THE CLOUD MESSENGER

image

“Clouds coming,” Sister Chandraki says as she rolls out the dough for another loti. Then she begins.

“Long, long ago there was a Yaksha who was exiled far from his home in the Himalayas and far from his lover. One day a cloud came by and warned him that the monsoons were coming and this was the time that his lover would be pining for him.”

As she speaks I look up for a cloud but since it is January there are no clouds in sight, just a deep, pure blue which embraces me.

Sister Chandraki continues:

“So the Yaksha asks the cloud to be his messenger and carry his words to his lost love. The cloud agrees and sets off across mountains, rivers, rice fields and lotus ponds. Finally after seeing many wonders the cloud arrives and announces with joy to the woman that the Yaksha still lives.”

It is years later at the Temple of the Emerald Buddha in Bangkok that I see my first Yaksha. I stand before a row of them, bedazzled by their wonderful colours and remember the story told to me that day at the village loti stall one hot dusty afternoon.

After this I want to know more about Yakshas so I do a little research and come across “The Cloud Messenger” or “Meghaduta” by Kalidasa considered to be one of the greatest Sanskrit poets.

I had no idea back then that the story I had heard had its origins in these 111 stanzas but I know for sure that after that tale I couldn’t see a cloud without picturing a Yaksha exiled from his beloved Himalayan home and friend.

When I moved to England some years later I often sent messages back to the village, my beloved home via the clouds!

I discovered recently that Yakshas may have originally been the tutelary gods of forests and villages, and were later viewed as the steward deities of the earth and the wealth buried beneath.

Today as I write this, the sky here is a riot of clouds, as if the Yakshas have gathered for the day. My wish for you is that this cloud message will reach you even thousands of kilometres away and bring some colour into your Sunday.

Clouds come floating into my life, no longer to carry rain or usher storm, but to add colour to my sunset sky.”

Rabindranath Tagore

7 thoughts on “THE CLOUD MESSENGER

  1. I saw and photographed Yakshas in Bangkok at the King’s main palace (sorry, forgot the proper name) and thought they were fabulous. Thanks for the story and adding to my education.

  2. I am so glad you visited Source of Inspiration and a link here. Your blog is beautiful and I enjoyed this post very much. I always notice clouds and now have a whole new layer of meaning for them. hugs, pat

Leave a Reply

